The Widow at Zarephath first had to Give

GIVING COMES FIRST

The widow at Zarephath FIRST had to GIVE.

She had to give beyond her understanding.

She had to even be willing to Risk her life in her giving ! 💫

Stunning ! 

This predicated an outcome that was so outlandish and so wildly benevolent that it would lavishly display the Might of His hand as well as the Grace of His Heart.

ASF

2 November 2021

1 Kings 7:10/14

10 So he arose and went to Zarephath. And when he came to the gate of the city, indeed a widow was there gathering sticks. 

And he called to her and said,

 “Please bring me a little water in a cup, that I may drink.” 

11 And as she was going to get it, he called to her and said,

“Please bring me a morsel of bread in your hand.”

12 So she said, “As the Lord your God lives, I do not have bread, only a handful of flour in a bin, 

and a little oil in a jar; and see, 

I am gathering a couple of sticks 

that I may go in and prepare it for myself and my son, 

that we may eat it, and die.”

 13 And Elijah said to her, 

“Do not fear; go and do as you have said, but make me a small cake from it first, and bring it to me

and afterward make some for yourself and your son. 

14 For thus says the Lord God of Israel: ‘The bin of flour shall not be used up, nor shall the jar of oil run dry, 

until the day the Lord sends rain on the earth.’ ”

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close